Skip to content

 

  Search

South Central Coast

San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, and Ventura Counties

South Central Coast Region Contacts

Who to contact for workforce training needs in South Central Coast

Regional Consortia
Chair/Vice Chair
Regional TA Providers Community College CEO
Serving as Regional Liaison
Chair: Luann Swanberg
805.479.7670 | lswanberg2@gmail.com

Co-Chair:  Diane Hollems
805.448.2106 | diane.hollems@gmail.com

Website: http://sccrcolleges.org/
Centers of Excellence in Labor Market Research:
Adele Hermann
805.553.4625 | ahermann@vcccd.edu

K-14 Pathways (formerly SB1070 Directors):
Karen Miles
Karen.nicolas@canyons.edu

Other Statewide TA Providers
Dianne Van Hook

Priority Sectors in the South Central Coast Region

Industry sectors that are a priority focus in the region; these sectors have training program investments that are either in the start-up phase (e.g. enrolling clients) or are currently delivering training and/or other services to job seekers and employers

Sector Sector Navigator Deputy Sector Navigator
Advanced Manufacturing
www.makingitincalifornia.com
Gurminder Sangha
559.688.3047
gurminders@cos.edu
Twitter: @gurminder2014
Michael Bastine
661.362.3111
michael.bastine@canyons.edu
Business & Entrepreneurship
www.smallbusinesssector.net
Charles Eason
707.863.7846
charles.eason@solano.edu
Gayla Jurevich
805.546.3188
gayla_jurevich@cuesta.edu
Health
www.ca-hwi.org
John Cordova
661.259.7800 x3074
562.505.4409 (cell) - preferred
john.cordova@canyons.edu
TBA

Emergent Sectors in the South Central Coast Region

Investments in training programs for these industry sectors are in the planning phase

Sector Sector Navigator Deputy Sector Navigator
Agriculture, Water & Environmental Technologies
calagcc.org
agnrcurriculum.com
Nancy Gutierrez
559.637.2530
nancy.gutierrez@reedleycollege.edu
Holly Nolan Chavez
805.922.6966 x5276
hchavez@hancockcollege.edu
Information & Communication Technologies (ICT)/Digital Media
ict-dm.net
Stephen Wright
805.496.8583
steve@wrightca.com
Paula Hodge
661.362.5108
paula.hodge@canyons.edu

Other Sector Resources in the South Central Coast Region

Sector Sector Navigator Deputy Sector Navigator
Advanced Transportation & Logistics
www.atreeducation.org
Jannet Malig
562.860.2451 x2912
jmalig@cerritos.edu
N/A
Energy, Construction & Utilities
ecusectordwm.com
James Morante
530.760.5270
morantecomms@gmail.com
N/A
Global Trade
citd.org
Leah Goold-Haws
562.938.3240
lgoold-haws@lbcc.edu
TBA
Life Sciences/Biotech
www.calbiotechcareers.org
Terri Quenzer
619.388.7284
tquenzer@sdccd.edu
N/A
Retail/Hospitality/Tourism 'Learn and Earn' Joy Hermsen
415.758.1077
Hermsen_Joy@rsccd.edu
N/A

Regional Data Resources

Economic Indicators Economic Indicators Labor Market Research Labor Market Research

Sector Reports
For questions or to commission follow-on custom reports, please contact: Laura Coleman, Centers of Excellence for Labor Market Information, Email: colemal@losrios.edu

Salary Surfer

Workforce Development Board Contacts

County WDB/Website WDB Director
San Luis Obispo San Luis Obispo County Workforce Development Board
http://sloworkforce.com/
Reva Bear
rbear@co.slo.ca.us
Santa Barbara Santa Barbara County Workforce Investment Board
www.sbcwdb.org/
Ray McDonald
r.mcdonald@sbcsocialserv.org
Ventura Ventura County Workforce Development Board
www.workforceventuracounty.org/
Cheryl Moore
cheryl.moore@ventura.org

Community College Resources

For workforce training needs at a specific college, you may want to contact the CEO (also known as President, Chancellor, or Superintendent) of the college. The Dean or Vice President of CTE/Workforce Development/Contract Education are additional titles that can be of help to you. If you cannot find a contact, consider emailing the Regional Consortia Chair above for assistance.

Other Resources & Contacts


The Opportunity
For community colleges to become essential catalysts to California’s economic recovery and jobs creation at the local, regional and state levels.

The Strategy
Doing What MATTERS for jobs and the economy is a four-pronged framework to respond to the call of our nation, state, and regions to close the skills gap. The four prongs are:

  • Give Priority for Jobs and the Economy
  • Make Room for Jobs and the Economy
  • Promote Student Success
  • Innovate for Jobs and the Economy
California Community Colleges Chancellor's Office