Skip to content

 

  Search

San Diego/Imperial

San Diego/Imperial Region Contacts

Who to contact for workforce training needs in San Diego/Imperial

Regional Consortia
Chair/Vice Chair
Regional TA Providers Community College CEO
Serving as Regional Liaison

Chair: Mollie Smith
619.644.7815 | mollie.smith@gcccd.edu

Website: myworkforceconnection.org

Centers of Excellence in Labor Market Research:
Tina Ngo Bartel
760.757.2121 x6889
tngobartel@miracosta.edu


K-14 Pathways (formerly SB1070 Directors):
Sonia B. Lira
619.644.7657 | sonia.lira@gcccd.edu


Other Statewide TA Providers

Sunita Cooke
via SDICCCA)


Priority Sectors in the San Diego/Imperial Region

Industry sectors that are a priority focus in the region; these sectors have training program investments that are either in the start-up phase (e.g. enrolling clients) or are currently delivering training and/or other services to job seekers and employers

Sector Sector Navigator Deputy Sector Navigator

Advanced Transportation & Logistics
www.atreeducation.org

Jannet Malig
562.860.2451 x2912
jmalig@cerritos.edu

Jonathan Kropp
509.768.0917
jkropp@sdccd.edu

Health
www.ca-hwi.org

John Cordova
661.259.7800 x3074
562.505.4409 (cell) - preferred
john.cordova@canyons.edu

Ann Durham
619.644.7057
ann.durham@gcccd.edu

Life Sciences/Biotech
www.calbiotechcareers.org

Terri Quenzer
619.388.7284
tquenzer@sdccd.edu

Kimberly Teston
619.388.7541
kteston@sdccd.edu

Emergent Sectors in the San Diego/Imperial Region

Investments in training programs for these industry sectors are in the planning phase

Sector Sector Navigator Deputy Sector Navigator

Advanced Manufacturing
www.makingitincalifornia.com

Gurminder Sangha
559.688.3047
gurminders@cos.edu
Twitter: @gurminder2014

Trudy Gerald
619.388.3522
tgerald@sdccd.edu

Information & Communication Technologies (ICT)/Digital Media
ict-dm.net

Stephen Wright
805.496.8583
steve@wrightca.com

Leroy T. Brady
619.388.3999
lbrady@sdccd.edu


Other Sector Resources in the San Diego/Imperial Region

Sector Sector Navigator Deputy Sector Navigator

Agriculture, Water & Environmental Technologies
calagcc.org
agnrcurriculum.com

Nancy Gutierrez
559.637.2530
nancy.gutierrez@reedleycollege.edu

N/A

Business & Entrepreneurship
www.smallbusinesssector.net

Charles Eason
707.863.7846
Charles.eason@solano.edu

Jennifer Patel
760.795.6837
jpatel@miracosta.edu

Energy, Construction & Utilities
ecusectordwm.com

James Morante
530.760.5270
morantecomms@gmail.com

N/A

Global Trade
citd.org

Leah Goold-Haws
562.938.3240
lgoold-haws@lbcc.edu

Victor Castillo
619.482.6494
vcastillo@swccd.edu

Retail/Hospitality/Tourism 'Learn and Earn'
californiaRHT.com

TBA

N/A


Regional Data Resources

Economic Indicators Economic Indicators Labor Market Research Labor Market Research

Sector Reports
For questions or to commission follow-on custom reports, please contact: Laura Coleman, Centers of Excellence for Labor Market Information, Email: colemal@losrios.edu

Salary Surfer

Workforce Development Board Contacts

County WDB/Website WDB Director
Imperial Imperial County Workforce Development Board
www.ivworkforce.com
Frank Marquez
frankmarquez@icwdo.org
San Diego San Diego Workforce Partnership, Inc.
www.workforce.org
Peter Callstrom
petercallstrom@workforce.org

Community College Resources

For workforce training needs at a specific college, you may want to contact the CEO (also known as President, Chancellor, or Superintendent) of the college. The Dean or Vice President of CTE/Workforce Development/Contract Education are additional titles that can be of help to you. If you cannot find a contact, consider emailing the Regional Consortia Chair above for assistance.

Other Resources & Contacts



The Opportunity
For community colleges to become essential catalysts to California’s economic recovery and jobs creation at the local, regional and state levels.

The Strategy
Doing What MATTERS for jobs and the economy is a four-pronged framework to respond to the call of our nation, state, and regions to close the skills gap. The four prongs are:

  • Give Priority for Jobs and the Economy
  • Make Room for Jobs and the Economy
  • Promote Student Success
  • Innovate for Jobs and the Economy
California Community Colleges Chancellor's Office