Skip to content

 

  Search

South Central Coast

San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, and Ventura Counties

South Central Coast Region Contacts

Who to contact for workforce training needs in South Central Coast

Regional Consortia
Chair/Vice Chair
Regional TA Providers Community College CEO
Serving as Regional Liaison

Chair: Luann Swanberg
805.479.7670 | lswanberg2@gmail.com

Co-Chair:  Diane Hollems
805.448.2106 | diane.hollems@gmail.com

Website: http://sccrcolleges.org/

Centers of Excellence in Labor Market Research:
Laura Coleman
916.563.3235 | colemal@losrios.edu


K-14 Pathways (formerly SB1070 Directors):
Karen Miles
Karen.nicolas@canyons.edu


Other Statewide TA Providers

Dianne Van Hook


Priority Sectors in the South Central Coast Region

Industry sectors that are a priority focus in the region; these sectors have training program investments that are either in the start-up phase (e.g. enrolling clients) or are currently delivering training and/or other services to job seekers and employers

Sector Sector Navigator Deputy Sector Navigator

Advanced Manufacturing
more info »
www.makingitincalifornia.com

Jose Anaya
310.973.3163
janaya@elcamino.edu

Michael Bastine
661.362.3111
michael.bastine@canyons.edu

Health
more info »
www.ca-hwi.org

Linda Zorn
530.879.9069
zornli@butte.edu

John Cordova
661.259.7800 x3074
562.505.4409 (cell)
john.cordova@canyons.edu

Small Business
more info »
www.smallbusinesssector.net

Charles Eason
707.863.7846
charles.eason@solano.edu

Gayla Jurevich
805.546.3188
gayla_jurevich@cuesta.edu


Emergent Sectors in the South Central Coast Region

Investments in training programs for these industry sectors are in the planning phase

Sector Sector Navigator Deputy Sector Navigator

Agriculture, Water & Environmental Technologies
more info »
www.calagcc.org

Nancy Gutierrez
559.637.2530
nancy.gutierrez@reedleycollege.edu

Holly Nolan Chavez
805.922.6966 x5276
hchavez@hancockcollege.edu

Information & Communication Technologies (ICT)/Digital Media
more info »
ict-dm.net

Stephen Wright
805.496.8583
steve@wrightca.com

Paula Hodge
661.362.5108
paula.hodge@canyons.edu


Other Sector Resources in the South Central Coast Region

Sector Sector Navigator Deputy Sector Navigator

Clean Energy & Transportation Initiative
more info »
www.cetieducation.org

Peter Davis
619.473.0090
outrchpd@me.com

N/A

Energy, Construction & Utilities
more info »
ecusectordwm.com

Jim Caldwell
925.899.2665
jcaldwell@workforceincubator.org

N/A

Global Trade & Logistics
more info »
www.californiastep.org

Jeffrey Williamson
951.571.6458
jeff.williamson@rccd.edu

Julie Samson
805.965.0581 x 3643
jasamson@sbcc.edu

Life Sciences/Biotech
more info »
www.calbiotechcareers.org

Terri Quenzer
619.388.7284
tquenzer@sdccd.edu

N/A

Retail/Hospitality/Tourism 'Learn and Earn'
more info »
californiaRHT.com

Philip Sutton
310.973.3172
psutton@elcamino.edu

N/A


Regional Data Resources

Economic Indicators Economic Indicators Labor Market Research Labor Market Research

Sector Reports
For questions or to commission follow-on custom reports, please contact: Laura Coleman, Centers of Excellence for Labor Market Information, Email: colemal@losrios.edu

Salary Surfer

Workforce Development Board Contacts

County WDB/Website WDB Director
San Luis Obispo San Luis Obispo County Workforce Development Board
http://sloworkforce.com/
Reva Bear
rbear@co.slo.ca.us
Santa Barbara Santa Barbara County Workforce Investment Board
www.sbcwdb.org/
Ray McDonald
r.mcdonald@sbcsocialserv.org
Ventura Ventura County Workforce Development Board
www.workforceventuracounty.org/
Cheryl Moore
cheryl.moore@ventura.org

Community College Resources

For workforce training needs at a specific college, you may want to contact the CEO (also known as President, Chancellor, or Superintendent) of the college. The Dean or Vice President of CTE/Workforce Development/Contract Education are additional titles that can be of help to you. If you cannot find a contact, consider emailing the Regional Consortia Chair above for assistance.

CareerCafe.com

CareerCafe.com
Student & Employer Job Portal


Other Resources & Contacts


The Opportunity
For community colleges to become essential catalysts to California’s economic recovery and jobs creation at the local, regional and state levels.

The Strategy
Doing What MATTERS for jobs and the economy is a four-pronged framework to respond to the call of our nation, state, and regions to close the skills gap. The four prongs are:

  • Give Priority for Jobs and the Economy
  • Make Room for Jobs and the Economy
  • Promote Student Success
  • Innovate for Jobs and the Economy
California Community Colleges Chancellor's Office