Skip to content

 

  Search

Los Angeles

Los Angeles County

Los Angeles Region Contacts

Who to contact for workforce training needs in Los Angeles

Regional Consortia
Chair/Vice Chair
Regional TA Providers Community College CEO
Serving as Regional Liaison

Co-Chair - Los Angeles: Richard Verches
310.367.0842
verches@verizon.net

Website: www.laocrc.org

Centers of Excellence in Labor Market Research:
Lori Sanchez
909.274.6106 | lsanchez144@mtsac.edu


K-14 Pathways (formerly SB1070 Directors):
Dr. Laura Cantu - LACCD Colleges
323.265.8646 | cantulb@elac.edu


Dr. Lyla Eddington - Non-LACCD Colleges
818.599.4212 | leddington@riohondo.edu


Other Statewide TA Providers

Bill Scroggins - Los Angeles
( Andrew Jones - Orange County )


Priority Sectors in the Los Angeles Region

Industry sectors that are a priority focus in the region; these sectors have training program investments that are either in the start-up phase (e.g. enrolling clients) or are currently delivering training and/or other services to job seekers and employers

Sector Sector Navigator Deputy Sector Navigator

Advanced Manufacturing
more info »
www.makingitincalifornia.com

Jose Anaya
310.973.3163
janaya@elcamino.edu

Ben Traina
310.973.3170
btraina@elcamino.edu

Advanced Transportation & Renewables
more info »
www.atreeducation.org

Peter Davis
619.473.0090
outrchpd@me.com

Jannet Malig
562.860.2451 x2912
jmalig@cerritos.edu

Health
more info »
www.ca-hwi.org

Linda Zorn
530.879.9069
zornli@butte.edu

Shari Herzfeld
562.463.7004
sherzfeld@riohondo.edu


Emergent Sectors in the Los Angeles Region

Investments in training programs for these industry sectors are in the planning phase

Sector Sector Navigator Deputy Sector Navigator

Energy, Construction & Utilities
more info »
ecusectordwm.com

Jim Caldwell
925.899.2665
jcaldwell@workforceincubator.org

Bruce Noble
949.300.3345
bruce.noble@riohondo.edu

Information & Communication Technologies (ICT)/Digital Media
more info »
ict-dm.net

Stephen Wright
805.496.8583
steve@wrightca.com

Dan Watanabe
310.339.3990
Watanabedan-ideas@yahoo.com


Other Sector Resources in the Los Angeles Region

Sector Sector Navigator Deputy Sector Navigator

Agriculture, Water & Environmental Technologies
more info »
www.calagcc.org

Nancy Gutierrez
559.637.2530
nancy.gutierrez@reedleycollege.edu

N/A

Global Trade & Logistics
more info »
www.californiastep.org

Jeffrey Williamson
951.571.6458
jeff.williamson@rccd.edu

Leah Goold-Haws
562.938.3240
lgoold-haws@lbcc.edu

Life Sciences/Biotech
more info »
www.calbiotechcareers.org

Sandra Slivka
619.388.7490
sslivka@sdccd.edu

N/A

Retail/Hospitality/Tourism 'Learn and Earn'
more info »
www.californiaRHT.com

Philip Sutton
310.973.3172
psutton@elcamino.edu

Ruth Cossio-Muniz
714.564.5521
cossio_muniz_ruth@rsccd.edu

Small Business
more info »
www.smallbusinesssector.net

Charles Eason
707.863.7846
charles.eason@solano.edu

Doris Driver
818.915.8135
driverdr@lacitycollege.edu


Regional Data Resources

Economic Indicators Economic Indicators Labor Market Research Labor Market Research

Sector Reports
For questions or to commission follow-on custom reports, please contact: Laura Coleman, Centers of Excellence for Labor Market Information, Email: colemal@losrios.edu

Salary Surfer

Workforce Development Board Contacts

WDB/Website WDB Director
City of Los Angeles Workforce Development Board
www.wiblacity.org/
Gregg Irish
gregory.irish@lacity.org
Los Angeles County Workforce Development Board
www.lacoworkforce.css.lacounty.gov/
Richard Verches
rverches@css.lacounty.gov
South East Los Angeles County Workforce Development Board
www.selacowib.com/
Yolanda Castro
yolandac@selaco.com
Pacific Gateway Workforce Development Board
www.pacific-gateway.org
KC Nash
kc.nash@pacific-gateway.org
Foothill Workforce Development Board
www.fwdbworks.org/
Phil Dunn
pdunn@cityofpasadena.net
Verdugo Workforce Development Board
www.verdugojobscenter.org/
Don Nakamoto
dnakamoto@ci.glendale.ca.us
South Bay Workforce Investment Board
www.sbwib.org
Jan Vogel
jvogel@sbwib.org

Community College Resources

For workforce training needs at a specific college, you may want to contact the CEO (also known as President, Chancellor, or Superintendent) of the college. The Dean or Vice President of CTE/Workforce Development/Contract Education are additional titles that can be of help to you. If you cannot find a contact, consider emailing the Regional Consortia Chair above for assistance.

*Includes El Camino College Compton Community Educational Center

CareerCafe.com

CareerCafe.com
Student & Employer Job Portal


Other Resources & Publications


The Opportunity
For community colleges to become essential catalysts to California’s economic recovery and jobs creation at the local, regional and state levels.

The Strategy
Doing What MATTERS for jobs and the economy is a four-pronged framework to respond to the call of our nation, state, and regions to close the skills gap. The four prongs are:

  • Give Priority for Jobs and the Economy
  • Make Room for Jobs and the Economy
  • Promote Student Success
  • Innovate for Jobs and the Economy
California Community Colleges Chancellor's Office