Skip to content

 

  Search

Inland Empire/Desert

Riverside and San Bernardino Counties

Inland Empire/Desert Region Contacts

Who to contact for workforce training needs in the Inland Empire/Desert region

Regional Consortia
Chair/Vice Chair
Regional TA Providers Community College CEO
Serving as Regional Liaison
Chair:  Julie Pehkonen
951.222.8026
Julie.Pehkonen@rcc.edu

Website: www.desertcolleges.org/
Centers of Excellence in Labor Market Research:
Michael Goss
909.652.7754 | michael.goss@chaffey.edu

K-14 Pathways (formerly SB1070 Directors):
TBA

Other Statewide TA Providers
Ed Knudson
Antelope Valley College
eknudson@avc.edu

Priority Sectors in the Inland Empire/Desert Region

Industry sectors that are a priority focus in the region; these sectors have training program investments that are either in the start-up phase (e.g. enrolling clients) or are currently delivering training and/or other services to job seekers and employers

Sector Sector Navigator Deputy Sector Navigator
Advanced Manufacturing
www.makingitincalifornia.com
Gurminder Sangha
559.688.3047
gurminders@cos.edu
Twitter: @gurminder2014
Alan Braggins
909.652.7695
Alan.Braggins@chaffey.edu
Twitter: @DSN_Alan
Global Trade
citd.org
Leah Goold-Haws
562.938.3240
lgoold-haws@lbcc.edu
TBA
Health
www.ca-hwi.org
John Cordova
562.505.4409 (cell) - preferred
661.259.7800 x3074
john.cordova@canyons.edu
Wendy Deras
760.636.7945
wederas@collegeofthedesert.edu

Emergent Sectors in the Inland Empire/Desert Region

Investments in training programs for these industry sectors are in the planning phase

Sector Sector Navigator Deputy Sector Navigator
Advanced Transportation & Logistics
www.atreeducation.org
Jannet Malig
562.860.2451 x2912
jmalig@cerritos.edu
TBA
Information & Communication Technologies (ICT)/Digital Media
ict-dm.net
Stephen Wright
805.496.8583
steve@wrightca.com
Susanne Mata
909.382.4067
smata@sbccd.cc.ca.us

Other Sector Resources in the Inland Empire Region

Sector Sector Navigator Deputy Sector Navigator
Agriculture, Water & Environmental Technologies
calagcc.org
agnrcurriculum.com
Nancy Gutierrez
559.637.2530
nancy.gutierrez@reedleycollege.edu
N/A
Business & Entrepreneurship
www.smallbusinesssector.net
Charles Eason
707.863.7846
Charles.eason@solano.edu
Lisa Kiplinger-Kennedy
760.954.5334
Lisak.kennedy@vvc.edu
Energy, Construction & Utilities
ecusectordwm.com
James Morante
530.760.5270
morantecomms@gmail.com
N/A
Life Sciences/Biotech
www.calbiotechcareers.org
Terri Quenzer
619.388.7284
tquenzer@sdccd.edu
N/A
Retail/Hospitality/Tourism 'Learn and Earn' Joy Hermsen
415.758.1077
Hermsen_Joy@rsccd.edu
N/A

Regional Data Resources

Economic Indicators Economic Indicators Labor Market Research Labor Market Research

Sector Reports
For questions or to commission follow-on custom reports, please contact: Laura Coleman, Centers of Excellence for Labor Market Information, Email: colemal@losrios.edu

Salary Surfer

Workforce Development Board Contacts

County WDB/Website WDB Director
Riverside Riverside County Workforce Development Board
www.rivcoworkforce.com/
Heidi Marshall
hmarshall@rivcoeda.org
San Bernadino San Bernadino County Workforce Investment Board
www.cms.sbcounty.gov/wib
Reg Javier
Reg.javier@wdd.sbcounty.gov

Community College Resources

For workforce training needs at a specific college, you may want to contact the CEO (also known as President, Chancellor, or Superintendent) of the college. The Dean or Vice President of CTE/Workforce Development/Contract Education are additional titles that can be of help to you. If you cannot find a contact, consider emailing the Regional Consortia Chair above for assistance.

Other Resources & Publications


The Opportunity
For community colleges to become essential catalysts to California’s economic recovery and jobs creation at the local, regional and state levels.

The Strategy
Doing What MATTERS for jobs and the economy is a four-pronged framework to respond to the call of our nation, state, and regions to close the skills gap. The four prongs are:

  • Give Priority for Jobs and the Economy
  • Make Room for Jobs and the Economy
  • Promote Student Success
  • Innovate for Jobs and the Economy
California Community Colleges Chancellor's Office